http://www.esmicro.eu



CONGRESS AWARDS OF THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR MICROCIRCULATION

At its biennial international conferences, the EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR MICROCIRCULATION (ESM) sponsors a number of awards to support researchers at all stages of their career. The following awards will be given during the 3rd joint meeting of the European Congress for Microcirculation (30th ESM), and European Vascular Biology (10th EVBO) meeting in Maastricht, NL, April, 15-18, 2019.

The Malpighi Award and Lecture

This is the most prestigious award of the European Society for Microcirculation (ESM). It is given to an individual with an internationally outstanding reputation in any field of microcirculation and microvascular research. The individual will deliver the prestigious Malpighi Lecture at the forthcoming ESM meeting in Maastricht, NL, April, 15-18, 2019 and will receive the Gold Malpighi Medal and a life-long Membership of the ESM.

The **Malpighi Prize Committee** is constituted by: the President, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer, one other representative of the ESM Executive Committee and the last two Awardees (if available). Voting is by secret ballot.

Nomination: Applications should consist of a letter of recommendation from the sponsor together with a two pages *curriculum vitae* including a list of the 20 most important publications (in one Pdf file). Nominations should be sent to the Secretary General (<u>akos.koller@gmail.com</u>) and cc. to the President of ESM (b.houben@maastrichtuniversity.nl).

The deadline for nomination is January 15th 2019.

Journal of Vascular Research/European Society for Microcirculation Award and Lecture

The Journal of Vascular Research (JVR/ESM) Award and Lecture aims to spotlight important and growing fields of research, with high impact for vascular biology and the microcirculation with the goal of giving an award to one of the most prominent researchers in the field.

Nomination is organized by Ulrich Pohl, Editor of JVR (<u>upohl@lmu.de</u>).

Deadline for nomination is January 15th 2019.

Servier Award in Microcirculation

This award is offered by SERVIER in partnership with the European Society for Microcirculation for an outstanding publication on microcirculation/vascular biology in basic or clinical research

(4000 Euro). The proposed publication must be original research, of international relevance and impact and be consistent with the main objectives of the ESM.

The committee for the **Servier Award in Microcirculation** includes: the President, Secretary-General, Treasurer, one other representative of the ESM Executive Committee and the last two Servier Awardees (if available). Voting is by secret ballot.

Award is organized by the Secretary-General (akos.koller@gmail.com).

Nomination: Members of ESM can nominate an individual.

The deadline for nomination is January 15th 2019.

Van Leeuwenhoek Distinctive Travel Award

This award enables younger researchers (less than 12 years after PhD degree) in the area of microcirculation and vascular biology to visit research laboratories to learn new techniques and discuss topics, methods and perspectives with established researchers (2,500.00 Euro). A number of centers within Europe, most of them led by members of the Society, are willing to consider applications to host such visits. The applicant can also suggest other laboratories in which she/he could be hosted. The applicant is not required to be a member of ESM and - should provide two pages curriculum vitae, including a list of publications indicating the 5 most important ones. The applicant should provide a detailed description of the host laboratory and how the proposed visit will promote his/her research and scientific development. The top ranking application (if not an ESM member) will also be rewarded by a free subscription to the Journal of Vascular Research for two years.

This Award is organized by the Van Leeuwenhoek Distinctive Travel Award Committee consisting of the President, the Past President, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer and two members of the Executive Committee of ESM.

Nomination: Please send applications to the Secretary General (<u>akos.koller@gmail.com</u>). The deadline for nomination is January 15th 2019.

Congress Travel Award for Early Career Investigators

Together with the submission of an abstract for the Joint 30th European Society for Microcirculation and 10th European Vascular Biology Organization Meeting being held in Maastricht April 15-18, 2019, early career scientists (student or less than 8 years postdoctoral experience) may apply for a travel award of 400 Euro (5 awards are available), which will cover the registration fee and support their travel costs. Travel awards will be given on the basis of the quality of the submitted abstracts. Travel Awards will only be given to an individual on one occasion; therefore previous awardees should not apply.

This Travel Award is organized and awarded by the Congress Award Committee.

The deadline for application will be the abstract deadline for the Congress – Spring 2019.

International Travel Award for Early Career Investigators from less-developed countries

Together with the submission of an abstract for the Joint 30th European Society for Microcirculation and 10th European Vascular Biology Organization Meeting being held in Maastricht April 15-18, 2019, early career scientists (student or less than 8 years postdoctoral experience) may apply for a travel grant of 400 Euro (5 person), covering the registration fee and support the travel costs. Travel grants will be awarded on the basis of the quality of the submitted

abstracts. Travel Awards will only be given to an individual on one occasion; therefore previous awardees should not apply.

This Travel Award is organized and awarded by the Congress Award Committee.

The deadline for application will be the abstract deadline for the Congress – Spring of 2019.

Poster Awards for Early Career Investigators

During the Joint 30th European Society five such awards (100 Euro each), will be given for the best posters.

Poster Prizes are organized and awarded by the Congress Award Committee at the Congress.